Flashback to Madeline

Standard

By chance I caught ETV showing the movie version of one of my favourite childhood story books which brought back such memories.  I had forgotten about Madeline but goodness gosh how I loved the Madeline books! 

I must’ve taken them out of the library tens of times and watched the animated programs on tv many times as a child. The noisy guitarist from my room even asked if I learnt my eccentricities through reading Madeline on repeat on so many occasions, this was when  we were watching the scene of Madeline befriending the chicken in the car then proceeding to refuse to eat roast chicken that night at dinner after naming the chicken Fred. I give animals a name (Peter for spiders etc) too but I am not sure if it is due to reading Madeline. 

Which titles were your favourite books when growing up? I believe that it is vital to encourage reading amongst children and read to them very regularly even from when they are babies. 

I bought seven books from the Exclusive Books sale this afternoon after a delicious lunch at Food Lovers Market, now to relax and enjoy the approaching thunder storm.

What delightful treats! Hope you can also find some gems at the Exclusive Books sale, Fanatics members get 10% off the sale price today and tomorrow. 

In case you were wondering, the 5 km running race I completed this morning was excellent, I met lots of new people and the noisy guitarist from my bedroom completed a great 21 km running race.

Although a low point was the litter. Shocking! It was very upsetting and frustrating to see how many people littered during the run and afterwards.

They took their coke / waters from the outstretched hands of the kind volunteers then proceeded to discard on the ground after drinking it when there were plenty of bins around. I picked up as much as I could after the race but hundreds of waste items remained. When is this mentality going to change?

The finishing line and surrounding areas was covered with plastic and paper. I find it very shocking how lazy South Africans are regarding disposing of waste.  

I hope everyone is having a splendid weekend! Thanks for reading.

Off now to inhale this delicious thunder storm air and enjoy the storm.

Speurder Linda

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Exclusive Books Mega Warehouse sale! « speurderlinda

Leave a Reply

